Literacy Teacher: Back to School Week #1

So, my kids went back to school this week and I went back to work.  I stay home with my two boys during the summer vacations and I love every minute of it.  When it’s time to get back into school mode I always feel conflicted.  I want summer with my boys to never end, but I’m also chomping at the bit to get back to work with my reading kiddos.  Now it’s the end of the week and my own two children both enjoyed their first week (phew!) and while I enjoyed mine too…I am also so exhausted! Here’s a little snapshot of a Reading Recovery/Literacy Teacher’s first week back to work:

Meetings

We can’t start the school year off without having several meetings from the get-go.  My favorite meetings involved hanging out with the primary reading teachers coordinating our beginning of the year assessing and watching tutorials on administering Fountas & Pinnell’s Benchmark Assessment System 3rd edition.  We were excited to see the types of changes that were made with the updated system!

people-woman-coffee-meeting.jpg

Organizing

I spent some time organizing my LLI and Reading Recovery materials.  I started to label some bins of supplies that I have wanted to label for a couple of years.  Hopefully, it won’t take me a couple more years to finish labeling them.  I also organized my Benchmark Assessment System kit and made copies for the assessments I would soon be giving.

BAS.jpg

Assessing

By the second day of school, I was ready to start administering the Observation Survey to our first grade students.  I love, love, love this opportunity to work one on one with the first grade students.  During the Hearing and Recording Sounds in Words Assessment, for the sentence, “The bus is coming.  It will stop here to let me get on” one of my little guys wanted to draw Mario and Luigi on the bus.

HRSW.jpg

Training

Not only did I spend time learning about the Benchmark Assessment System, but I also had a full day of training on our school district’s new-ish universal screening tool.

So after this week, I’m looking forward to a weekend where I can spend some extra time with my boys (and husband) and sleep in a bit.

sleeping.jpeg

I hope everybody is having a great start to the new school year!

ml7ooogr9ehbrv53gvb1

Leave a comment